Posted in Tiny Cabins

Still Under Construction…More to Come Soon :)

IMG_6265.JPG

Author:

I currently work at Canadian college where I have the privilege of spending time with wonderful students in a mental health and wellness capacity. It has been a 26-year journey in counselling, psychotherapy, research, program development and teaching, where I have had the opportunity to be challenged and nudged into a life that I feel so grateful to be living. This is not what I ever imagined possible, with the multiple barriers and challenges I was born into. Education, and mental health support along the way, changed the trajectory of my life. It has been through my academic travels that I have increased opportunity in my life and have benefitted from the encouraged opportunity to "lean in" and take on life trials by addressing the inevitable barriers. It was NOT easy, but well worth the mental resilience I fostered in myself along the way. This was through incredible professors, the structure and challenge of the academic environment and many inspiring students, that I encountered on my personal and professional path, that supported, encouraged and nudged me when the journey became overwhelming and hard. This has led me to living a life I could not have even imagined 30 years ago when I thought that my life circumstances were not conducive to change or living a life of safety, security and “having enough”. My sabbatical year, 2019-20, opened the opportunity to take on another life challenge that has terrified me, creating my own business. Through Changing Minds, I want to bring my passion to life by creating accessible mental health support in my community, and on this platform. I want to use my personal and professional experience to help, support and encourage others to live their most authentic life, infused with the wisdom of psychology and self-compassion. People are not broken, often we just haven't been exposed to the knowledge about how our brain works, and have not had the opportunity to develop personal skills/knowledge needed to meet the challenges in our lives. “The good life is a process, not a state of being. It is a direction, not a destination”. Carl Rogers

Leave a comment